Confessions of an Armchair Linguist

Words!  They’s neat.  You can do all sorts of things with them.  I’m doing things with them right now, and you’re participating!  I’m putting them out, you’re taking them in.  That’s interesting.  It’s useful that people have a way of transmitting ideas to each other that usually works.  Sure, there are hundreds of different languages out there, but if you find somebody else who uses the same one as you, it’s a breeze.

Storytelling is my hobby.  Someday I hope it can be my job, but it’s not like I don’t use words all the time in my current job.  I have an interest not only in the craft and creativity of storytelling, but also the underlying mechanics.  I only really realized that this was an important subject to me well out of college, and I kick myself all the time for not pursing a formal study of it then.  Still, all hope is not lost.  In writing as well as reading/watching/playing/hearing the stories of others, I’ve become especially interested in how storytelling works, why stories are (or aren’t) effective, and how new media should be utilized in the service of storytelling.

Currently, my goals are manifold (that’s a nifty word, isn’t it?):

1. Share my own self-taught thoughts on how and why storytelling works the way it does.

B. Learn up on some actual linguistics so I can find out the real names of the things I’ve made up (and maybe even discover that some of the things I’ve made up don’t have names yet!   How cool would that be?)

III. Examine stories from a variety of media, the way they’re told, what works, what doesn’t, and why.

Some Things I Believe

Any story has the potential to be great.

A story does not have to be profound to be impactful.

A story does not have to be complex to be engaging.

Though many stories are similar, except in cases of outright plagiarism, any story can stand on its own, be valuable, and be effective.

Therefore, I do not plan on limiting myself only to classic stories, or literary stories, or even good stories.  Learning from failures is useful and can be pretty fun too.  Whenever I have a post which explores a particular work, I’ll tag it as a “Story Delivery Vehicle” entry.  Any time I’m musing on mechanics, I’ll tag those as “Armchair Linguistics”.  Anything else is anything goes.  I already have a few pieces in the works, so I hope to be sharing them soon.

Sounds interesting, right?  I know!  Tell me about it.

(See what I did there?)

One response to “Confessions of an Armchair Linguist

  1. Wait a minute. I had a College English teacher tell me there was only ONE story, and that it wasn’t very good.
    Except for the one he was working on.

Leave a Reply

